Contact Us

Uptown

The Mount Sinai Medical Center
234 East 85th Street 2nd Ave 5th Floor
New York, New York 10028
Tel: 212.731.3311

Midtown

Schweiger Dermatology Group
1727 Broadway, 2nd Floor
New York, New York 10019
Tel: 212.489.6669

Testimonials

NOTE: These reviews are written by patients on an independent third party website:
for more information visit:
Vitals.com website, Yelp.com website RealSelf.com website
Vitals yelp-2cyelp-2c-300x170

September 28, 2015
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Highly recommend!! Dr. Khorasani has been treating the red discoloration on my face with the V Beam laser and I am so happy with the results. Dr. Khorasani was very informative and thorough during my consultation with him and he really took the time to help me determine which treatment would be the best option for my skin type. He is always very patient and attentive and I have never felt rushed during any of my appointments.

Not only is Dr. Khorasani a fantastic doctor but he is also very personable and friendly. He truly cares about his patients and I would recommend him to anyone!

View rating details


September 05, 2015
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Dr. Hooman Khorasani not only has the credentials and experience but he also took the time to carefully explain the procedure and relieve any fears or concerns I had. He thoroughly answered all my questions before, during and after the procedure. I also felt secure having the procedure done in a hospital rather than an office. The cost he gave me is on par with other prices I’ve research and there were no hidden fees. I instantly felt comfortable when we met during our consultation–which I believe is important. I would definitely go back to Dr. Khorasani for another procedure and would highly recommend him to anyone.

View rating details


July 17, 2015

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I had always disliked my lips since they were thin and disappeared when I smiled. With Dr. Khorasani, I didn’t just get fuller, prettier lips; he took into consideration my entire facial structure and gave me natural-looking lips that enhanced my overall appearance. I feel great and, even better, my friends and family tell me I’ve never looked prettier. New lips, new me…thanks Dr. Khorasani!

View rating details


 Jul 15th, 2015
Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

Highly recommend ! A Doctor with great beside manner . More then sufficient time in explaining procedure. A personal follow up the following morning . Great experience and outcome.

View rating details


 May 15th, 2015

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

I’ve had 2 mohs surgeries with Dr. Khorisani and my 100 year old father had 2. We both have had nothing but excellent experiences with Dr. Khorisani. He’s patient and thoughtful and have appreciated his kindness & generosity. He does high quality work. I highly recommend him.

View rating details


 Dec 16th, 2014

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

After being diagnosed with BCC( type of skin cancer) I was referred to Dr. Khorasani, even though my Insurance wasn’t excepted he didn’t turn me away! He and his amazing staff took care of me with the utmost respect and care!

View rating details


 Apr 22nd, 2014

Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 2.33.29 PM

when i first met Dr. Khorasani, he suggested i have a biopsy of an old chicken pox scar. i was reluctant as the scar had been there for so long. He was persistent over the next couple of years that i should have a biopsy. so i agreed. Then i received a call that the biopsy was positive and come in the next day for Moh’s surgery. Luckily Dr. Khorasani was an expert in Moh’s surgery. He made the entire procedure painless even though a rather large hole was created in my lower cheek. With great care he sewed the edges of the skin together so that the scar line would follow my nose and smile lines on my face. I am extremely pleased with his professional skill and the care that he has given me. I would enthusiastically recommend him without reservations.

 Aug 14th, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Skin cancer surgery

Dr. Khorasani removed a melanoma from my arm and a basel cell from my neck which was more extensive than originally thought. I was petrified with the melanoma diagnosis even though VERY early stage. He and his staff were beyond comforting, professional and competent. I had several appointments and was nervous each time only to be comforted, but honest with all procedures. His bedside manner is the best, I did not a experience a long wait time, the staff was beyond courteous, and he answered all of my concerns and questions in a most professional and kind manner. He is the very best and I so highly recommend Dr. Khorasani. I felt totally confident and at ease with him and his staff!! This practice on W. 57th is the very best for the dermatologists as well!

View rating details


Aug 14th, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

In May 2013, I had an excision procedure to remove a malignant melanoma from the right side of my face. The excision left a large hole in my right cheek, which the surgeon who performed the operation suggested I let heal through secondary intention. That was not something I wanted to do. After reviewing lists of dermatologists/surgeons, I decided to make an appointment with Dr. Khorsani based on his exemplary credentials and superior patient reviews. I met with Dr. Khorasani and we discussed the various options available to me. He took the time to thoroughly explain each procedure and with the information he provided, I was able to make a decision as to which option was best for me. I elected to have what is called a Facial Rotation Flap, which amounted to extensive reconstructive surgery to the right side of my face. In addition, he also did Mohs surgery on a cancerous growth on the back of my neck. He incorporated the scar into my hairline, so it is not noticeable. After the surgery, Dr. Khorasani’s staff closely monitored my progress and I always felt that they were just a phone call away. They answered all my questions and allayed all my fears. It has been less then 3 months since my surgery and thanks to Dr. Khorasani’s expertise, my progress has been impressive. What was once a large, disfiguring hole on the side of my face, is now a thin pencil line scar, which is improving daily. From my first visit till present day, I can say without hesitation that I have no regrets having made the decision to consult with Dr. Khorasani. He and his staff are extremely professional and caring. I felt as though I was a member of their family. The care they extended to me was outstanding. I would highly recommend them and will do so in the future. Kudos to them all, for they are the best.

View rating details


Jul 25th, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Talented Dermatologist with Excellent Communication Skills

I had an excellent experience with Dr. Khorsani—he is a compassionate, talented and knowledgeable doctor who really cares about the comfort of his patients. I made an appointment with Dr. Khorasani to have a growth on my eyelid removed. Because the incision was on my face, I was extra nervous about how the recovery might affect my appearance. I was thrilled with how quickly and beautifully the incision healed, with minimal bruising and swelling. Dr. Khorasaniâs warmth and effective communication throughout the procedure and follow-up put me at ease and made me feel confident the outcome would be fine.

View rating details


Jul 17th, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

A tribute …one year later

One year ago today, July 17, Dr. Khorasani performed Mohs surgery on my nose and successfully removed all of the squamous cell cancer that had invaded it. In order to “get” all of the cancer, it was necessary for him to remove a significant portion of my nose. Thus began the miraculous journey of watching this magnificent doctor reconstruct my nose using the pedicle flap procedure and following up later with dermabrasion and laser correction. Every step of the way, he patiently explained each procedure and gave me the confidence to know that – in the end – everything would be alright. Dr. Khorasani gave me back my nose and my life. There are simply no words to express my gratitude to this wonderful man.

View rating details


April 3rd, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Really Great Doctor

he spotted a skin cancer on my face that another dermatologist missed. even better… he performed mohs surgery. it’s now about a month later and the repair is virtually invisible. really nice guy and a wonderful doctor. i would recommend him to anyone without hesitation.

View rating details


March 22nd, 2013

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

After graduating from college, I moved to New York and immediately began researching doctors to find the most respectable dermatologist and melanoma specialist. I read countless reviews and ultimately decided on Mount Sinai. I chose Hooman Khorasani as my doctor because of his excellent reputation and have not looked back since. His care throughout the past three years has been outstanding. Starting with my first visit, Dr. Khorasani took his time to learn about me and my story providing an extensive first mapping of my moles. He was detailed in his description of every spot on my body from my head to my toes. No other doctor has ever spent that much time to examine me in a more meticulous manor in my life. I never felt he removed anything or did a procedure without it being necessary and giving the explanation. I appreciate his thoughtfulness in removal and scaring. Every three months, I return for follow up appointments where he personally monitors and examines my skin for changes. I am confident in Dr. Khorasani because of his use of cutting edge of technology, studies and treatments. Dr. Khorasani and his staff are very kind, personable, and have excellent follow-up. If I ever leave New York, I will be devastated to leave this incredible doctor. I have never felt more valued and cared for by anyone like I do with Dr. Khorasani. Because I was diagnosed at an early age, I value his stead-fast dedication to me and my health.

View rating details


Nov 19th, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Exceptional Doctor and Mohs Surgeon

A few months ago I needed a doctor who performed Mohs surgery and my search online led me to Dr. Khorasani. I am truly grateful to have found such an exceptional doctor. I was anxious about the procedure since the skin cancer was on the ala section of my nose, which I understood to be a potentially tricky spot to repair. Dr, Khorasani and his team helped ease my nervousness and made me feel confident that I was in good hands no matter how extensive the tumor proved to be. I was relieved after two stages of excision to be told that the site was clear, but I still had a substantial opening on my nose that needed closure. Dr. Khorasani used a repair procedure known as an Island Pedicle Flap and, upon healing, my nose looks like it did before the surgery. I recently went for my follow-up visit and was told I could have dermabrasion to eradicate the signs of surgery but, since the scar is so minor, I may just leave it alone. In my search to find a skilled Mohs surgeon, I found the best!

View rating details


Oct 28th, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

Lipoma through Liposuction

I met with Dr. Khorasani and he told me the options for my large 8cm x 10cm lipoma on my upper left back (bra area) was either an incision or liposuction. Since I am in my twenties and did not want the large scar on my back (the back scars easily) I opted for the liposuction option. While much more expensive, it was close to painless and totally worth it. I was back to work the following morning with only extra strength Tylenol and a prescription to prevent infection. I had to wear a corset type medical wrap for a week to ensure proper healing since mine was so large,but again it was totally worth it. Two weeks lateri can see and feel a difference. No scar. Completely removed and I don’t ever have to explain the nasty lipoma story to people asking about a scar.

View rating details


Aug 28, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

A VERY GOOD DOCTOR

I saw Dr Khorasani for a skin cancer which had been mis diagnosed by another doctor more than a year earlier. Having had two other surgical experiences with two other doctors which were less than ideal, I asked for an initial meeting to be sure I would trust myself to this Doctor. He gave me plenty of time, answered what he could answer and gave ranges of answers for what he couldn’t know in advance. I felt prepared and ready. The surgeries were extensive. Since the earlier doctor has said there was nothing wrong, the cancer had a chance to spread: about 3inches by 3 inches on the front part of my scalp. Now, about 6 weeks later I have had surgeries and grafts and suture removal, all sorts of unpleasant sounding things. The funny thing is, though, I always looked forward to the appointments. The staff was always warm and friendly and reassuring and encouraging. It was like going out for a beer with some friends (without the alchohol). I hope you never need the kind of procedures I needed, but if you do, I hope you can get a chance to work with Dr Hooman Khorasani and his great team at Mt Sinai.

View rating details


Aug 28, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

MOHS SURGERY AND RECONSTRUCTION VIA PARAMEDIAN FOREHEAD FLAP

On July 5, 2012, I received a call from my dermatologist telling me that a biopsy on my nose had come back indicating squamous cell cancer. Twenty years ago, I had cancer in the same place on my nose and Mohs surgery was performed. It was scary but not terribly invasive and since I had no visible symptoms of the current cancer, I figured the Mohs procedure would be relatively simple with a couple of swipes. Nevertheless, I decided to look at all options relative to who would be the best person to do the job. How does one ever know if youve found the right doctor? Well I am one of the lucky ones; I did. I found Dr. Hooman Khorasani and I want to share my experience with others who may be in the same situation I was in a few weeks ago. Dr. Khorasani is the Chief of Mohs and Reconstructive Surgery at Mt. Sinai Medical Center and I was able to get an appointment with him relatively quickly. The Mohs surgery was scheduled for July 17; it was not the simple procedure I had hoped for. The surgery began at 9:45 a.m. and was completed at 5:45 p.m., after the sixth biopsy had finally indicated clean margins. Never once during this long day did Dr. Khorasani ever indicate anything but total confidence that we were going to get this thing and then make my nose ok, in spite of what I knew was becoming a larger and larger cavity. He gently soothed me with his words, with his comforting pats on my head and his assurances that I should not be worried. In fact, after the fourth biopsy around 4:00 p.m., as I was wondering just how much more they were going to have to take off and out of my nose, he brought his lunch out and sat down with me to explain the next situation we were going to deal with.that of reconstruction via the Paramedian Forehead Flap.Dr. Khorasani was exhausted after a full day of surgery and yet he came out and sat with me one of many patients – to try to give me courage and to make me feel better. How many doctors do that these days? And by the wayhis explanation of the next steps did indeed give me the strength to get through the process because he gave me hope.The first phase of reconstruction began on July 25. Lots of lidocaine shots, preventive pain meds, a little valium and we were ready to go. All through the surgery, I felt his expert hands performing what needed to be done. At one point I knew that he was carefully taking measurements of what I imagined must be the hole in my nose and of how much skin he needed to cover it. I must tell you that at no point was I frightened or worried that I was going to be botched. The man is simply a genius.The first night I started to bleed more than I figured I should be bleeding. Dr. Khorasani told me to apply pressure to the bleeding area until it had stopped and indicated that I should come in the next morning to be repacked. Two days later, I took the pressure bandage off and with it came what seemed to be a critical bandage covering the newly redone flap. Being very frightened, I took pictures, emailed him and waited. He called (on a Saturday) and told me not to be concerned, but suggested that I come in on Monday morning where he reassured me that everything was fine.The first sutures came out on August 1 and on August 15, I had more surgery. No valium, no vicodin but plenty of lidocaine and once again we were ready to proceed. This phase of the reconstruction was the procedure to disconnect the tube of skin from my forehead which had been providing a blood supply to the still growing flap on my nose (it kind of looked like a shuttle because it was riding on top of my nose). As Dr. Khorasani was sewing me up, there was total silence and I could tell that he was concentrating on making the repair as perfect as he could. On Wednesday, August 22, the last sutures were removed. We will now wait a few months for my body to heal and then I will receive laser treatment to further reduce the inevitable scarring on my forehead and nose. However – and this is important for anyone who will be having this procedure – if nothing further were done from here on out and I were to live with the scars I have now, I would feel as if I were one of the luckiest people on earth. My decision to choose Dr. Khorasani made a huge difference in my life. Not only is he an outstanding surgeon, he is a vibrant, gentle, reassuring, precise, responsive, and patient man. There are no words to describe how grateful I am to Dr. Khorasani for his magnificent work. As far as Im concerned, he has performed a miracle.

View rating details


Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

I went to Dr. Khorasani for a consultation to have Mohs surgery done for a Basal cell growth under my eye. I was very nervous, scared and concerend about the surgery as this is a very sensitive area near my eye. However, during the consultation I was so impressed with Dr. Khorasani and his explanation of the procedure and the closure that I decided to move forward with the surgery that day. It has now been 3 weeks since the Mohs Surgery and you can barely see anything on mark on my face. Honestly, I never expected this to go so smoothly without any scarring. Dr. Khorasani explained all the steps of the surgery and his bed side manner during the procedure was excellent. I sincerely want to express my gratitude and thanks for such a great outcome.

View rating details


Jun 7, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

BEST DR.FOR MOHS & RECONSTRUCTED SURGERY

I had to Mohe procedures done.The one on my ear required reconstructive surgery. This was an extremely difficult & long procedure.However Dr.Khorasani made me feel relaxed & safe. I had complete faith & trust in him.He is a very enthusiastic dr.& loves what he does.He has an excellent team beside him.Dr.Aliya works along side with him & she made sure after the procedures were done to stay in contact with me.She responded every time I had a question or concern. The nurse,Grace that assisted with both Mohs procedures & the ear reconstruction was excellent & very nice. I highly rate Dr.Khorasani & his team 100%-5 stars. His work his excellent and I have complete trust in him & his staff.I am cancer free and handsomely reconstructed today thanks to Dr.Khorasani!!!!!

View rating details


May 9, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
I came to see Dr. Khorasani regarding a condition that was affecting me for years. Dr. Khorasani was extremely patient & caring in answering my questions regarding my procedure. He encouraged me to contact him via email with ANY questions following the procedure, and he was very prompt in replying back to me. I can’t thank him enough for being a compassionate AND highly skilled Doctor. He has been an invaluable help to me. Thank you, Dr. Khorasani!

View rating details


Apr 21, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

THANK YOU FOR MY SIX PACK!!!

Dr. Khorasani did my liposuction and I can not describe how happy I am. He walked me step by step through the whole process. He gave me his cell phone and would get back to me via email anytime I had a question. I had worked out all my life but just could not get that six pack. He is truly awesome!!

View rating details

Read more: Dr. Khorasani’s Reviews


Jan 16, 2012

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
EXCELLENT!

I have seen Dr. Khorasani for a number of skin related issues. And each time he has proven to be excellent at what he does. Not only did he turn out to be spot-on regarding a diagnosis where prior dermatologists had failed, he is also a very sympathetic and caring doctor who goes the extra mile to put to rest any concern that you, as a patient, might have. I would therefore recommend him highly.

View rating details


Nov 9, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
CARING AND CONSIDERATE

I came in to have a questionable mole removed. Dr. Khorasani answered all my questions (there were many) and addressed all my concerns (also many)without ever making me feel rushed or stupid. He took the time to really explain everything to me, which I appreciated since most doctors have made me feel that I was taking too much of their valuable time.He removed with mole quickly and painlessly and I now have almost no scar! I am very vain and this was one of my concerns. = ) I recommend him to anyone looking for a caring, considerate and excellent doctor.

View rating details


Oct 22, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

I saw Dr. Khorasani for a recurrent skin problem on my forearm that no other physician was able to cure or treat effectively. Dr. Khorasani was able to immediately identify the problem and a long lasting solution – it has been approximately 1.5 years now. I would highly recommend him. He is extremely knowledgable, personable, and caring. He wants his patients to fully understand the issues and risks associated with their treatment and makes an effort to explain all aspects. I even received several follow up calls checking to see whether the problem returned or not, something none of the other doctors took the time or interest to do.

View rating details


Oct 22, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! 

Dr. Khorasani is an amazing dermatologist! He is personable, extremely knowledgeable, caring and professional. Dr. Khorasani has treated me for my acne and allergic skin problems as well as cosmetic procedures such as laser hair removal and lip injections. I am more than pleased with the results and forever grateful for the care he has shown me. Thanks Dr. Khorasani! Also, a big plus for the friendly and helpful staff and welcoming office!

View rating details


Oct 21, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
DR. KHORASANI WAS BORN TO BE A DOCTOR!

Dr. Khorasani was BORN to be a doctor! Dr. Khorasani is truly the most caring, intelligent physician I have ever seen. He takes his time to really talk to you, to LISTEN, and do a thorough examination. I have felt comfortable with him since my first visit. I never feel rushed, yet he is very efficient, and pays attention to detail like no other physician.

View rating details


Oct 21, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

With healthcare professionals, I question and do my own research and then question some more.Dr. Khorasani was exceptionally patient with me – answering all my questions – as I was evaluating whether or not have my procedures done (I did fraxel laser and Botox). During the laser procedure, Dr. Khorasani calmed me by explaining before starting what he was going to do, and then keeping me informed along the way, which I asked him to do. The results were exceptional, and I have since returned to Dr. Khorasani for additional treatments. I also found him to be exceptionally respectful of his office staff.

View rating details


Jul 22, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
EXCELLENT!
Reviewer: Fredrika 

Dr. Khorasani surgically removed a mole in my face, which I had previously tried to remove with laser at a different clinic but with no result. This time, however, the proceedure went quick and painless and two weeks later I can hardly tell it was ever there.

View rating details


Jun 7, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
Reviewer: lisa d

It was not easy to find a dermatologist that I trust and actually like. However, Dr. Khorasani is fantastic – very thorough, knowledgeable and personable. The procedure he preformed on me turned out better than I had ever dreamed of! I was also impressed by the building and the kind people at the front desk. A doctor and an clinic I strongly recommend!

View rating details


May 16, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
DESERVES 5 STARS IN A 4-STAR RATING
Reviewer: M.A. Susco

Some adjectives that easily come to mind when describing Dr. Khorasani include: professional, personable, competent, caring, and skillful — all preceded by the word EXCEPTIONALLY. He is 200% committed to providing his best to each patient so that the outcome of any procedure he performs will be the best for each of them.In addition to being an outstanding, gifted surgeon, Dr. Khorasani possesses wonderful people skills. His manner is calm, confident and friendly, which has a positive effect on any patient going under the knife. I always felt safe and comfortable in his hands, very important issues for meI feel very blessed to have experienced his professional skills.One procedure was an island flap on my nose and the other an eyelid lift. Very successful results for both surgeries.

View rating details


May 14, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
SWEET AND GENTLE DOCTOR

DR. Khorasani has been taking care of me for many years. He is the sweet and gentle doctor. I never feel rushed, he always looks you in the eyes and pays attention to details. He has done multiple procedures on my and I could not be happier. He is one of a kind.

View rating details


Apr 8, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
DR K IS GREAT
Reviewer: Lillian Friedenthal

Dr Khorasani treated me with care and kindness – explained everything to me as my procedure went along and was very reassuring – I have already told many of my friends about him

View rating details


Apr 8, 2011
Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM

REMARKABLE
Reviewer: Bertha Ellman

This guy is unbelievable! He even answers e-mails…how different is that in today’s managed care environment. Dr. K. is knowledgeable, caring and someone who talks TO you, not at you. I had a cancerous tumor removed from my chin and his “artistic” patchwork abilities were amazing.

View rating details


Apr 8, 2011

Screen-Shot-2016-02-01-at-2.33.29-PM
AMAZING PERSON 

Doctor Khorasani did nose reconstruction after mohs procedure. He has magic hands and is so gentel and kind. My face looks normal again.

View rating details